You are here

Thursday, 15 October 2015

The Dorset Art Prize 2015 has highlighted the depth of hidden talent among the county’s aspiring artists. It shows that the county, which has always inspired artists, writers and poets, has a wealth of fine art talent waiting to emerge.

The presentation, held at The Bournemouth & Poole College’s distinctive Digital Design Centre building in Poole, is one of the most valuable art competitions outside London, with £8,000 worth of prizes at stake.

Thursday, 08 October 2015

Congratulations to Jack Wieland and Hannah Bastable at The Bournemouth & Poole College. They are hailed as the college’s Exceptional Students 2015 and were recognised at a glittering ceremony at plush Royal Bath Hotel in Bournemouth.

Monday, 05 October 2015

Students taking The Bournemouth & Poole College Decorating Skills course have a new labour saving and safety device thanks to the generosity of a Ringwood based company, which has kindly donated Betsy Paint Mates to the college.

The Betsy Paint Mate tool has really impressed course leader Scott Oliver, a man with years of experience in paint techniques and labour saving devices.

Monday, 05 October 2015

Four trainee welders at The Bournemouth & Poole College have created a unique piece of art to inspire and motivate others to learn the trade.

The trainees, all apprentices at one of the UK's leading manufacturers of industrial heat exchangers Heatric, are also part of a three year training programme at the college.

Monday, 05 October 2015

Trainee bricklayer James Moorcroft is going places after being awarded The James Drewitt Memorial Prize, at this year’s Bournemouth & Poole College Construction Awards.

The annual event recognises the success of students who have excelled in their studies. The ‘James Drewitt’ prize goes to the Drewitt Group trainee judged to have shown the best attitude and greatest enthusiasm to learn.

Company Director Gillian Drewitt, formerly on the Board of Governors at The College, said her great grandfather created the memorial prize.