Skip to main content

This area is to provide you with information about the operation, policies and procedures, and membership of the Governing Body. It also enables you to access minutes of meetings.

If you have any comments about the College Board and our Governance, or would like more information, please contact the Director of Governance.


The Bournemouth & Poole College’s activities are overseen by The Board of the Corporation. It is responsible for agreeing, supporting and scrutinising delivery of The College’s strategy. 

The College Board has 16 members and includes members from the commercial, public, voluntary and education sectors. The Board operates a Committee Structure model and operates strictly in accordance with the Government’s laid down ‘Instrument and Articles of Government’. 

The Board of the Corporation comprises 16 members:

David Ford, Chair of the Board

David joined the Board in April 2015. David is a Fellow of the Institute of Digital Marketing. His particular skills include marketing, digital technology and finance. David is Chair of the Board, a member of the Finance & Resources Committee, the Search & Governance Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the HR Committee.

Sue Wellman, Vice-Chair of the Board

Sue joined the Board in March 2018. Sue has over 20 years’ experience as an HR generalist, and has spent the last 10 years as a management consultant specialising in executive coaching and mentoring, and organisation, team and management development. Sue is Vice-Chair of the Board, Chair of the Remuneration Committee, the Search & Governance Committee and the HR Committee. Sue is also a member of the Curriculum, Quality & Standards Committee.

Dan Tout

Dan joined the Board in July 2019. Dan is Chartered Accountant and a Partner at PKF Francis Clark Ltd. Dan is Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee.

John Dale

John joined the Board in October 2019. John spent his early years in broadcasting and education. At Ravensbourne College, a specialist HE and FE provider of training and education, John was Director of Communications Studies for the HE Provision and was Head of FE College Provision, managing a wide range of A Level, BTEC and specialist accreditation courses in Fashion, Design, Media and Fine Art. He pioneered HND fast track course development and industrial apprenticeships with the UK broadcast industry at HE and FE qualification levels. He moved to Dorset with his business that now works internationally supporting behaviour change in large organisations, particularly cyber security and environmental sustainability. John is a member of the Finance & Resources Committee.

Ian Jones

Ian joined the Board in November 2019. Ian is Head of External Engagement at Bournemouth University. From 2007 to 2011 Ian was an academic at Bournemouth University being Programme Leader, Dissertation Tutor (undergraduate and masters) and delivering several units across faculties. Ian is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

Caron Khan

Caron joined the Board in August 2020. Caron’s expertise spans several areas, from creative marketing and project management to business development, as well as forming strategic partnerships for private, public and third sectors.

Sadie Wetherell

Sadie joined the Board in September 2021.  Sadie has worked in the luxury shipbuilding industry for nearly 20 years and currently works for Sunseeker International Ltd as a Dealer Development Officer. Sadie is a member of the Curriculum, Quality & Standards Committee and the HR Committee. 

Saba Rubaei

Saba joined the Board in November 2021. Saba works for Citibank as a Senior Information Officer. Saba has an MSc in Cyber Security and Human Factors. Saba is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

Mike Kennedy

Mike joined the Board in March 2022. Mike is Chair of the Finance & Resources Committee.

Sharon Jones

Sharon joined the Board in September 2023. Sharon works for the Ministry of Defence in RN Maritime Enterprise Engagement. Previously she has held positions in Economic Development, Engineering and Education. Sharon is a member of the Curriculum, Quality & Standards Committee.

Phil Sayles

College Principal and Chief Executive

Fran Bove

Staff Board Member

HE Student Board Member

Ellie Dennis

FE Student Board Member


We endorse the principles identified by the Committee on Standards in Public Life (Nolan Committee) for those holding public office and adherence to these standards forms part of the Code of Conduct for Board Members.

In particular, the standards on accountability and openness reflect the Board’s approach to access and publication of meeting papers. This is explained further in Public Access to Board Papers and Confidentiality

Board Meetings

Audit Committee

Search Committee