Membership of the Governing Body

The Bournemouth and Poole College North Road campus

About The College's Board

The Board of the Corporation comprises 16 members:

  • 12 members with the necessary skills identified by the Corporation
  • The Principal
  • 1 member of staff (elected from among all college employees)
  • 2 student members (2nd(+) year students, nominated by their Director of Learning and Tutor, and endorsed by their peers and the Search Committee)

The Chair and Vice-Chair are appointed for a two-year term.

Current Board

David Ford, Chair of the Board
David Ford, Chair of the Board of Governors David joined the Board in April 2015. David is a Fellow of the Institute of Digital Marketing.  His particular skills include marketing, digital technology and finance. David is Chair of the Board, Chair of the Strategy Advisory Group and a member of the Search & Governance Committee and the Remuneration Committee.
Caroline Foster, Vice-Chair of the Board
Caroline Foster, Vice-Chair of the BoardCaroline joined the Board in September 2015. She retired in August 2018 from her role as 14-19 Strategic Lead on all statutory responsibilities for post-16 education and training for Bournemouth and Poole Local Authorities. Caroline is Chair of the Curriculum Advisory Group and a member of the Strategy Advisory Group, the Search & Governance Committee and the Remuneration Committee.
Sue Wellman
Sue WellmanSue joined the Board in March 2018. Sue has over 18 years’ experience as an HR generalist, and has spent the last 8 years as a management consultant specialising in executive coaching and mentoring, and organisation, team and management development. Sue is Chair of the   Remuneration Committee and a member of the Search & Governance Committee.
Stewart Cotterill
Stewart CotterillStewart joined the Board in May 2019.  Stewart is a Professor of Sport and Performance Psychology and Head of School (School of Psychology, Sport and Physical Activity) at the AECC University College. Stewart is a member of the Curriculum Advisory Group.
Dan Tout
Dan ToutDan joined the Board in July 2019.  Dan is Chartered Accountant and a Partner at PKF Francis Clark Ltd.  Dan is Chair of the Audit Committee.
John Dale
John DaleJohn joined the Board in October 2019. John spent his early years in broadcasting and education.  He moved to Dorset with his business that now works internationally supporting behaviour change in large organisations, particularly cyber security and environmental sustainability.
Arthur Whiteside
Arthur WhitesideArthur joined the Board in October 2019.  Arthur has recently retired from the role of Managing Director UK Sales at Alexander Dennis Limited (ADL). Arthur is a member of the Finance Advisory Group.
Ian Jones
Ian JonesIan joined the Board in November 2019.  Ian is Head of External Engagement at Bournemouth University.  Ian is a member of the Audit Committee.
Melanie Wilkins
Melanie joined the Board in August 2020.  Melanie is a private client lawyer, she has more than 20 years’ fee earning experience and is qualified as a Chartered Legal Executive and CILEx Probate Practitioner.
Caron Khan
Caron joined the Board in August 2020. Caron’s expertise spans several areas, from creative marketing and project management to business development, as well as forming strategic partnerships for private, public and third sectors. 
Diane Grannell
Diane GrannellCollege Principal and Chief Executive
Jonathan Wood
Jonathan WoodStaff Board Member
Robbie Campbell
Student Board Member 2020-21 (Higher Education)
Martyna Meramow
Student Board Member 2020-21 (Further Education)
Neethu Stephen  
Neethu joined the Audit Committee as a co-opted Committee Member on 1 September 2020.  Neethu is a qualified accountant.

Contact information

For further information contact the Clerk to the Corporation.