Entry criteria

What you need to achieve

Each course has specific entry requirements.

Honours Degree applicants are expected to achieve a minimum of 48 UCAS Tariff points and have passed a range of relevant GCSEs at grades 9-4 (formerly A*-C). 

Full-Time courses

If you’re applying to a Full-Time Foundation Degree or a Full-Time HNC/D, you will need:

48 UCAS Tariff points from two A Levels, or an equivalent Level 3 qualification (e.g. Access to Higher Education Diploma, BTEC National Diploma, NVQ 3)

Four GCSEs at grades 9-4 (formerly A*-C), to include maths and English or an equivalent qualification

Part-Time courses

If you’re applying to a Part-Time Higher National/Certificate/Diploma course, you will normally be expected to have achieved:

48 UCAS Tariff points from two A Levels, or an equivalent Level 3 qualification (e.g. Access to Higher Education Diploma, BTEC National Diploma, NVQ 3)

Four GCSEs at grades 9-4 (formerly A*-C), to include maths and English or an equivalent qualification

Unsure about your qualifications? You can check by using the handy UCAS Tarfiff Calculator.

Please check your expected UCAS points against our benchmarks

For all courses you will be required to demonstrate a set of skills necessary to fulfil the demands of the course, including an ability to express yourself satisfactorily in written English, basic numeracy and a basic understanding of the relevant subject area. These skills should be demonstrated at a minimum of Level 2 of the National Qualifications Framework. Level 2 qualifications include GCSEs, Level 2 Key Skills and Level 2 NVQ or equivalent. We may award UCAS tariff points for Key Skills achieved at Level 3.

For some courses a range of credentials, including work experience, training and portfolios of work, may be considered as evidence that you are suitable for and able to complete a course successfully. If you currently hold any of these credentials and would like them to be taken into account on your application, they will be considered on an individual basis.

Other types of qualifications that meet the benchmark requirement include:

Access to Higher Education Diploma Courses (recognised by QAA)
These courses are freestanding and are normally accepted as an entry qualification to the first year of a degree course. The subjects of the qualification should be relevant to the course that the student is applying for.  Some universities now request GCSE at grade C or above in English and Maths, rather than other Level 2 equivalences.  Please note this is not part of the Access to HE Diploma. Make sure you research your progression college/university directly for their Entry Requirements or search through UCAS.
Advanced Diploma
If you hold an Advanced Diploma qualification it may be counted towards your entry requirements. Requirements vary from course to course. Please visit thecollege.co.uk for updated details.
BTEC National Certificate or Diploma
Applications from students completing relevant BTEC Nationals are welcome.
Extended Diploma - PPP from the 18 unit Extended Diploma
Diploma - MP from the 12 unit Diploma
Subsidiary Diploma  - D from the 6 unit Subsidiary Diploma (two subsidiary Diplomas usually required).
International/European Baccalaureate
The College welcomes students who are studying the International/European Diploma as part of the International/European Baccalaureate. If you receive an offer from The College, it will state the minimum points (including any specific subject requirements) you will need to enter the course. It is important that you achieve the stated scores in your offer. The College does not accept equivalent UCAS tariff points. The minimum IB score acceptable is 24 points.
Irish Leaving Certificate
Applicants are normally required to achieve seven passes, including four at the Higher Level with grade C or above.
National Certificate or Diploma
You should achieve an overall pass in a subject relevant to your chosen university course: Certificate (12-unit), Diploma (18-unit).
National Vocational Qualification (NVQ)
NVQs at Level 3 will be considered in conjunction with other information that helps to demonstrate your ability to benefit from the course and successfully complete it.
Scottish Certificate of Education
Four passes at the Higher grade, or five passes including three at the Higher grade, or two passes (grade C or above) in Certificate of Sixth year Studies together with three passes at SCE Ordinary level.
Welsh Baccalaureate Advanced Diploma
Applicants will be expected to achieve the unit levels already stated in the options component of the awards e.g. GCE, VCE, or BTEC Nationals. Overall, a student’s UCAS tariff offer will also recognise their achievements in the core.

Got a question?

We are on hand to answer any queries you have, so don’t hesitate to contact us.

Phone: 01202 205180
Email: he@thecollege.co.uk
Form: Complete a contact us form