The information technology sector

Information technology (IT) involves the use of computers in industry, commerce, the arts and elsewhere. IT includes aspects of IT systems architecture, human factors, project management and the general ability to use computers. Increasingly businesses are implementing IT strategies to manage and process data, both to support many business processes and to deliver new opportunities.

The UK is one of the leading digital nations in the world, and its economy has the highest percentage of GDP involved in the digital economy of all European nations. The digital economy refers to both the digital access of goods and services and the use of digital technology to help businesses.

Research by the National Institute for Economic and Social Research (NIESR) showed that the digital economy is larger than conventional estimates show, with almost 270,000 actively digital companies in the UK, or 14.4 per cent of all companies, and 11 per cent of all jobs.

Ongoing developments in the sector include the Government Digital Inclusion strategy to increase SME (small- and medium-sized enterprise) transactions online, with the aim of reaching 1.6 million businesses by 2018.

Young people taking their first step into a new career need the right blend of technical and academic skills to support them. And we know that employers and Higher Education are looking for highly skilled, job-ready individuals with a strong work ethic.

The TechNation report 2019 illustrates the current Digital skills need. There is also the 2018 report, with a section specifically about the Bournemouth Cluster.

The new BTEC Nationals has been developed in collaboration with over 5,000 universities, employers and professional bodies with employability at the heart, so you can develop the skills and confidence you will need to step into a prosperous future.

The Pearson Edexcel suite of BTEC Nationals consists of the following options:

  • A Foundation Diploma is 6 units (equivalent to 1.5 A-Levels) (Year 1)
  • An Extended Diploma is 13 units (equivalent to 3 A-Levels) (Year 2)

Introducing BTEC IT - leaflet.

What the course leads to

What courses can I do after this? 

The qualification is intended to carry UCAS points and is recognised by HE providers as contributing to the admission requirements to many relevant courses.

In addition to the content outlined areas outlined above, the requirements of the qualification will mean that students develop some of the transferable and higher-order skills that are highly regarded by higher education and employers. A significant portion of recruitment for specialists in information technology is at graduate level and the full Extended Diploma qualification is designed to support progression to higher education ahead of employment.

The qualification, when studied for the full 2 years, is aimed at progression to higher education. However, it also enables students to develop the knowledge and skills needed for entry-level roles related to IT, including vocational apprenticeship roles and trainee/entry-level roles in software development web/content development, mobile apps design, games design, programming and IT/business analysis support.

On successful completion, you could progress onto full-time higher education for a Degree/Foundation Degree/HNC/HND or seek employment in the computer industry with opportunities for further part-time study. You can also progress onto Modern Apprenticeships.

Typical HE progression routes include:

Within the college
FdSc/BSc 3D Computer Generated Imagery – Modelling & Animation
FdSc/BSc 3D Computer Generated Imagery – Architectural Visualisation
HNC/HND Computing

Other courses that our students have progressed onto:
BSc Computer Animation
BA Computer Games Modelling & Animation
BSc Computer Games Programming
BSc Computer Games Technology
BSc Computer Science with Artificial Intelligence
BSc Computer Science (Information Security)
BSc Cyber Security
BA Digital Creative Industries
BA Digital Media Design
BSc Electronic Engineering with Foundation Year
BSc Ethical Hacking and Network Security
BA Games Cultures
BSc Games Programming
BSc Games Technology
BSc Software Engineering
BSc Web Technologies

What do I need to apply

To do this course you should have... 

You will require a minimum of 5 GCSEs at grades A*-C including English and maths grades 9-4 (formerly A*-C). Alternatively, successful completion of a relevant Level 2 qualification and have achieved a Level 2 Functional Skill in English and maths.

What about work experience? 

All students will be expected to take part in relevant work experience during their study programme with us. You will also be involved in a work experience project which will hone your project planning, financial management, team player and programming skills.

International entry requirements 

If you are not from an English Language speaking country, you will need to have UKVI IELTS 5.5. We accept a wide range of academic qualifications awarded overseas and use the UK NARIC (National Academic Recognition Information Centre) guidelines for international comparisons. For tuition and accommodation fees please visit and our International Operations team can offer you advice and guidance before and during your studies.

Course costs

Course Code Start Date Costs 16-18 Costs 19-23 (with concessions) Costs 19+ (no concessions)
TFN3FD001H 05/09/2022 £158.00 £2860.00 £2860.00
There is an Advanced Learner Loan available for this course.

* Please note fees are subject to change.

International Fees 

For tuition and accommodation fees please visit and our International Operations team can offer you advice and guidance before and during your studies.

Course content

Course Content 

The content of this qualification has been developed in consultation with academics to ensure that it incorporates the most up-­to-­date knowledge and skills to enable progression to higher education. In addition, employers and professional bodies have been consulted on content development to confirm its relevance to current industry practice used in IT and related occupational disciplines.

Year 1 - Cyber, Web and Games course  (BTEC Level 3 Foundation Diploma in IT)

Students study the relationship between hardware and software, managing and communicating information and data, and the principles of designing and developing computer programs across four mandatory units:

Mandatory units in year 1 are:

Unit 1 - Information Technology Systems (external exam)
Unit 2 - Creating Systems to Manage Information (external exam)
Unit 3 - Using Social Media in Business
Unit 4 - Programming

Optional units which will be delivered (to be confirmed):

Unit 6 - Website Development
Unit 8 - Computer Games Development

Year 2 - Cyber, Web and Games top-up to BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in IT

Students progress to the second year where they will undertake the remaining units required to complete the full BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in IT - which is equivalent to 3 A levels

Mandatory units in year 2 are:

Unit 11 - Cyber Security and Incident Management (external exam)
Unit 14 - IT Service Delivery (external exam)
Unit 9 - IT Project Management

Optional units which will be delivered (to be confirmed):

Unit 7 - Mobile Apps Development
Unit 17 - Digital 2D and 3D Graphics
Unit 18 - Digital Animation and Effects
Unit 21 - Business Process Modelling Tools

More info

Start Day/Time 

September 2021.


2 Years




Level 3

Qualification Name 

Level 3

Awarding Body 


Curriculum Area 

Business, Digital, Leadership & ESOL - Digital & Computing

More about the course 

Here at The College, we have a reputation for excellent skills training. Our lecturers are professionals in their chosen fields, with sound experience, knowledge and expertise.


2 Years




Level 3

Qualification Name 

Level 3

Awarding Body